Bartosz Kurek named MVP to lead World Dream Team


Turin, Italy, September 30, 2018 - Bartosz Kurek has been named Most Valuable Player of the 2018 FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship, Sunday night in Turin for his role in leading Poland to their third consecutive world title.

Kurek, the high-scoring, 30-year-old opposite leads a Dream Team composed of the best players of the three-week, 94-match tournament.

2018 FIVB World Championship Dream Team.

Dream Team 2018:
• Outside hitters: Michal Kubiak (POL) & Douglas Souza (BRA)
• Middle blockers: Lucas Saatkamp (BRA) & Piotr Nowakowski (POL)
• Opposite: Matt Anderson (USA)
• Setter: Micah Christenson (USA)
• Libero: Pawel Zatorski (POL)
• MVP: Bartosz Kurek (POL)

Bartosz Kurek, MVP, and Piotr Nowakowski, best middle blocker, spent from all the emotion.

Amassing a total of 171 points, Kurek is the top scorer of this World Championship. He is followed in the top scorers' list by USA's Matt Anderson at 163 and Brazil's Wallace De Souza at 157.

He is the second Pole to be given the award, after Mariusz Wlazly was named MVP in 2014.

List of World Championship MVPs since the introduction of the award in 1986:
• 1986, Paris: Philippe Blain (France)
• 1990, Rio de Janeiro: Andrea Luchetta (Italy)
• 1994, Piraeus: Lorenzo Bernardi (Italy)
• 1998, Tokyo: Rafael Pascual (Spain)
• 2002, Buenos Aires: Marcos Milinkovic (Argentina)
• 2006, Tokyo: Gilberto 'Giba' Amauri de Godoy Filho (Brazil)
• 2010, Rome: Murilo Endres (Brazil)
• 2014, Katowice: Mariusz Wlazly (Poland)
• 2018, Turin: Bartosz Kurek (Poland)

Quick links - Volleyball:
FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championship Italy-Bulgaria 2018
Results and ranking
Volleyball TV